Patient Reviews

Reviews for Dental Cleanings Services Near Woodland Hills, CA

Dr. Susan Fredericks understands that patients need good information in order to make the right choice for their dental needs. Woodland Hills and Calabasas residents looking for the best dental practice for their general, cosmetic, and restorative dental needs can read reviews from other patients to help them make their decision. We are grateful for all of our patient reviews and are pleased to provide them here on this page for prospective patients to read. Dr. Fredericks and her team at Southern Cal Smiles believe that each patient is unique and should have a truly individualized experience. We hope these patient reviews of Southern Cal Smiles help you better understand the exceptional care we provide, and we hope to see you soon for your appointment.

Filter39 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from G.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 17, 2021

i'm old and I've been to many dentist offices. This one is by far the best. Anu is the best in the business for cleaning. Each time coming to the dentist is a treat! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 19, 2021

They are a great bunch ! Pain free cleaning! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2021

I can honestly say Dr. Fredericks is phenomenal. My father was a dentist so he has been the only dentist I have gone to for the past 45 years. While I love my father, I still was never in love with the idea of going to his office, but my father was extremely intelligent and always provided us with the best care. Since his retirement about a year ago, we received a referral to Dr. Fredericks. Clearly I was skeptical as I wondered if a new dentist would tell me I had numerous cavities and provide me with a laundry list of items needing to be fixed seeing as I only had one cavity. Amazingly enough, I was super impressed with Dr. Fredericks as she provided me with a thorough cleaning which was gentler than my father’s teeth cleaning technique and fortunately I had no cavities which made me super happy. Dr. Fredericks chair side manner is excellent. She will tell you stories of her family partially as a distraction but they are entertaining. I was so impressed with the basics (cleaning, x rays, etc) undertaken during my initial appointment, I chose to go back for a second appointment a week later to have her fix some cosmetic bonding items I never had time to address prior to my father’s retirement. All I can say is WOW! The difference was astounding and truly amazing. I encourage her to show everyone the difference because it is truly remarkable. This review might seem fabricated or provided by one of Dr. Frederick’s family members, but I can assure you, it is not. She is truly a terrific dentist and I encourage everyone to visit her because she truly makes magic happen. I look forward to my next visit. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 06, 2021

I have not been to a dentist in about 7 years. I had heavy build up in my teeth and Dr. Fredericks gave a thorough and painless cleaning. The insurance administration was smooth and the staff helped me pay the least amount of out of pocket expense. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 17, 2021

I have been a patient of Dr. Fredericks for many, many years. She and her staff are thorough, friendly and make going to the dentist almost a pleasure. I would recommend her to anyone--especially to those who don't "like" dentists. Her hygienist, Anu, is a dream and does a wonderful job of cleaning my teeth. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 04, 2021

Dr. Fredericks was an absolute breath of fresh air. I had previously gone to a different dentist who told me I needed all this work done that was going to cost me right around $2000, I did not feel like I needed all that work as I really did not feel any pain or have any complaints. I went in for a cleaning!!! I decided to get a second opinion and I am so happy that I did. Dr. Fredericks did a complete exam and told me almost none of that was necessary. She is amazing and honest and I am now a forever patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 09, 2021

Came in today for a cleaning with Anu. She made the entire process painless!My husband and I have been patients since 1998 and would recommend Dr. Fredericks if your looking for the best dentist in the world! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 27, 2021

Dr. Susan Fredricks is the best. I have been coming to her for many years and have never had a bad experience with her and her staff. From routine cleanings, to fillings, and recently taking care of chipped and broken front teeth from a fall, she has been awesome. She is compassionate, knowledgeable, honest and up front with any treatment plan. An amazing person, as well as a great dentist More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 19, 2021

Anu is friendly, professional and answers all my cleaning questions More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 31, 2020

The whole family uses Dr. Fredericks and I would recommend to anyone. The cleanings are always great and I always get compliments on my teeth. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 17, 2020

Dr. Fredericks was very patient and caring. She did a wonderful job cleaning our teeth! Amazing Dentist, I am going to recommend her to all my family and friends. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.Y.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 06, 2020

Dr. Fredericks has been treating me since Oct 2010. It was obvious that day 10 years ago, that her dental practice was at an elevated level I had not yet experienced. Here are a few of Dr. Frederick's unique touches:1. Case Mgmt: She and her staff just care. From implants, root canals, cleanings, fillings, to a broken tooth (my dog's head crashed into my face), she coordinates all aspects of my dental work with implant specialists. Like a general contractor manages all areas of a project, but she doesn't charge for it. 2. Maximize benefits: Dr. Fredericks ensures that I don't leave insurance $ unused. Her office mgr provides updates on how much annual $ I have left to spend. 3. Prioritize: Works with me to plan work within my budget.4. Patient Advocate: When insurance denied a pre-auth, her team pushed back until it was approved.5. Trust: I trust Dr. Fredericks and because year after year, she and her staff consistently provide genuine care and the best patient service. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 30, 2020

Today's routine cleaning was a great experience. There were multiple air filters and safety measures were in order. I felt safe during my visit. Staff was wonderful as usual. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 15, 2020

Best Service, Cleaning Experience. Safe Guards in Place made me feel comfortable getting my dental work done!They are the Best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.E.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 27, 2020

I had a cleaning as well as a filling. Everyone here is wonderful!!!I will always come back here. Very professional and efficient but at the same time so nice. I highly recommend coming here for your teeth. Thank you everyone!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.E.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 27, 2020

I had a cleaning as well as a filling. Everyone here is wonderful!!!I will always come back here. Very professional and efficient but at the same time so nice. I highly recommend coming here for your teeth. Thank you everyone!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.F.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 25, 2020

Contemporary and extraordinary care from "simple" cleaning to complete treatment plan for restorative and maintenance. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.F.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 25, 2020

Contemporary and extraordinary care from "simple" cleaning to complete treatment plan for restorative and maintenance. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 18, 2020

Dr. Fredericks is very funny and personable. Had a great cleaning. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 18, 2020

Dr. Fredericks is very funny and personable. Had a great cleaning. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 19, 2019

The office is warm and inviting, the staff is super friendly, and the doctor is amazing. The cleaning was very comfortable and I learned a lot of great techniques for home. I am so happy to have found my new dentist! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 19, 2019

The office is warm and inviting, the staff is super friendly, and the doctor is amazing. The cleaning was very comfortable and I learned a lot of great techniques for home. I am so happy to have found my new dentist! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 05, 2019

I came in for dental cleaning and exam and began to consider a smile transformation for myself. I am so excited with the results and I really happy with my clean, pretty new smile that makes me look years younger. Her staff assisted me in choosing the best color and style for my new smile and I love the results. Clean and beautiful and youthful results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 05, 2019

I came in for dental cleaning and exam and began to consider a smile transformation for myself. I am so excited with the results and I really happy with my clean, pretty new smile that makes me look years younger. Her staff assisted me in choosing the best color and style for my new smile and I love the results. Clean and beautiful and youthful results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 22, 2019

I came in for a teeth cleaning and root canal treatment and the ladies here at this office were amazingly nice and efficient. Thank You! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 22, 2019

I came in for a teeth cleaning and root canal treatment and the ladies here at this office were amazingly nice and efficient. Thank You! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 05, 2018

I went to a previous dental a month ago & had a horrible experience. Dr. Fredericks & staff are amazing. Anu the hygienist did and amazing cleaning. I was fearful from my visit with the other dental office. Now I'm happy I found my new dentist! Looking forward to my next visit! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 05, 2018

I went to a previous dental a month ago & had a horrible experience. Dr. Fredericks & staff are amazing. Anu the hygienist did and amazing cleaning. I was fearful from my visit with the other dental office. Now I'm happy I found my new dentist! Looking forward to my next visit! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 29, 2018

I have been coming here for years. I love the office staff and how clean my teeth feel after. I see Anu and she's fantastic. She's so thorough and professional. Dr Fredericks is always attentive. Thankfully, I haven't needed much dental work so I go in every 6 months for my cleanings. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 29, 2018

Our family is so grateful to Dr Fredericks and her wonderful office staff. My son is severely disabled and had a couple of bad experiences at dentists. So it was with a lot of anxiety and trepidation that we consulted Dr Fredericks. Her comforting and confident bedside manner, and her obvious expertise in handling his dental issues has made all the difference. He is happy to come for his teeth cleanings, and is so relaxed and compliant. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 27, 2017

Dr. Feredricks office is one the best dental offices I have ever been to... Her Hygienist  Alene, is the absolute best  Hygienist on this Earth, I am very sensitive and I dread going to have my teeth cleaned every 4 months, but since I met Alene, I have never ever had such a through and pain free cleaning in my life... Dr. Fredericks, thank you for taking care of me all these years.  You are all the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 28, 2016

I have been going to Dr. Fredericks for 15 years. I found her when I worked in Woodland Hills and her location was convenient.  I switched jobs and moved further away more than 10 years ago, but I continue to drive almost an hour (sometimes longer with traffic) because I trust her and she does great work!  I usually see Anu for cleanings who is fantastic too! Thankfully, I have not needed a lot of dental work, so when Dr. Fredericks tells me I need something done, I completely trust she has my best interest at heart. She works with my insurance and I have not had any discrepancies or problems with this. Her office is always very busy (which I think is a good thing), but not so busy that I feel like I am not getting exceptional service. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 10, 2016

Best dentist and staff!  I always get a great cleaning and answers to all my questions.  Everyone is very friendly and I always come out with a great smile by both the cleaning and good humor! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 28, 2016

I rarely write reviews, but I am really just blown away by my entire experience here.  First of all, Doctor Fredericks (Susan) is the best dentist that I have ever been to.  That has to be said right off the bat. SHE IS AMAZING!!! I'm pretty sure most of us dread going to the dentist and I'm so glad that the entire office just has their stuff together.  I can't begin to tell you how I have hated every single dentist I've ever gone to.   When I first arrived, I was greeted by front-desk Susan (not to be confused with Doctor Susan). Office Manager/Front-desk Susan is extremely professional, kind, and caring. Exactly the type of person you want to talk to right before seeing the dentist. Especially if you are nervous!  She is just awesome. When I went into my first visit, Doctor Fredericks started a plan on how to get me to where I need to be with my overall dental hygiene health. I had a major root canal done and I could barely feel the needle.  Doctor Fredericks actually cares about your pain and is aware that you are a human being that just might be uncomfortable. Becky went over the numbers with me and was very clear about the cost.   I FINALLY found my dentist and I'm so happy and relieved. I highly recommend Doctor Fredericks. The overall cost isn't super cheap, but since when is dental work cheap?  It's also not too expensive.  Just know that your teeth are a part of you, and it's in your best interest to take care of yourself. At least, that's what I tell myself each time I improve my dental health while paying the visit bill. It's 100% worth it.  Thank you so much Doctor Fredericks. You and your staff are amazing. Don't ever change. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 28, 2016

I rarely write reviews, but I am really just blown away by my entire experience here.  First of all, Doctor Fredericks (Susan) is the best dentist that I have ever been to.  That has to be said right off the bat. SHE IS AMAZING!!! I'm pretty sure most of us dread going to the dentist and I'm so glad that the entire office just has their stuff together.  I can't begin to tell you how I have hated every single dentist I've ever gone to.  When I first arrived, I was greeted by front-desk Susan (not to be confused with Doctor Susan). Office Manager/Front-desk Susan is extremely professional, kind, and caring. Exactly the type of person you want to talk to right before seeing the dentist. Especially if you are nervous!  She is just awesome. When I went into my first visit, Doctor Fredericks started a plan on how to get me to where I need to be with my overall dental hygiene health. I had a major root canal done and I could barely feel the needle.  Doctor Fredericks actually cares about your pain and is aware that you are a human being that just might be uncomfortable. Becky went over the numbers with me and was very clear about the cost.  I FINALLY found my dentist and I'm so happy and relieved. I highly recommend Doctor Fredericks. The overall cost isn't super cheap, but since when is dental work cheap?  It's also not too expensive.  Just know that your teeth are a part of you, and it's in your best interest to take care of yourself. At least, that's what I tell myself each time I improve my dental health while paying the visit bill. It's 100% worth it.  Thank you so much Doctor Fredericks. You and your staff are amazing. Don't ever change. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 30, 2015

Dr. Fredericks was recommended by a co-worker, and despite being a little far from my home (downtown L.A.) I went there for 2 years.  Dr. Fredericks and her staff are very polite and professional, and while I feel confident about the level of technology they use in their treatments, I don't feel that they try to sell or push the use of technology that many other dentists seem to do.  I hadn't been to a dentist for about a year and had to get some fillings done.  They did a great job of working with my schedule and insurance/health savings plan to get the work done.  Dr. Fredericks also had some concerns about my perio health, so she recommended a deeper cleaning and more frequent check-ups to monitor the condition.  At my next checkup, all was good and I was back on track for excellent dental health. Unfortunately, I had to change dentists due to a new job and move to South Orange County.  I was shocked when my new dentist told me I needed fillings and perio-treatment totaling almost $4000!  It was only 6 months since my last visit, so I knew something wasn't right.  I called Dr. Fredericks to get a consultation and she was able to accommodate me on a Saturday.  I made the nearly 2 hour trip, and I'm glad I did.  Dr. Fredericks conducted the examination herself and informed me everything was fine, there were just a couple things I needed to monitor and stay with regular check-ups to prevent issues.  Dr. Fredericks gave me an honest evaluation that put me at ease, if my insurance covered it I would stay put and continue to make the trip up.  I would definitely recommend Dr. Fredericks to anyone looking for a dentist in the area, it's worth the trip for top-notch, honest treatment! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 30, 2015

Dr. Fredericks was recommended by a co-worker, and despite being a little far from my home (downtown L.A.) I went there for 2 years.  Dr. Fredericks and her staff are very polite and professional, and while I feel confident about the level of technology they use in their treatments, I don't feel that they try to sell or push the use of technology that many other dentists seem to do.  I hadn't been to a dentist for about a year and had to get some fillings done.  They did a great job of working with my schedule and insurance/health savings plan to get the work done.  Dr. Fredericks also had some concerns about my perio health, so she recommended a deeper cleaning and more frequent check-ups to monitor the condition.  At my next checkup, all was good and I was back on track for excellent dental health.Unfortunately, I had to change dentists due to a new job and move to South Orange County.  I was shocked when my new dentist told me I needed fillings and perio-treatment totaling almost $4000!  It was only 6 months since my last visit, so I knew something wasn't right.  I called Dr. Fredericks to get a consultation and she was able to accommodate me on a Saturday.  I made the nearly 2 hour trip, and I'm glad I did.  Dr. Fredericks conducted the examination herself and informed me everything was fine, there were just a couple things I needed to monitor and stay with regular check-ups to prevent issues.  Dr. Fredericks gave me an honest evaluation that put me at ease, if my insurance covered it I would stay put and continue to make the trip up.  I would definitely recommend Dr. Fredericks to anyone looking for a dentist in the area, it's worth the trip for top-notch, honest treatment! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 11, 2012

I should start by saying - If you look at my other reviews, you see another dental office on there, so this comes from previous experience.   What can I say?  I hate teeth cleanings, and yet have managed to find an office where they make them as pleasant of an experience as possible.   Right from the get go the Office Manager, Susan, is a delight.  She works with you if you do not have insurance, she calls you the day before your appointment to remind you and she is just generally happy to be alive.  TOTALLY great energy to walk into the office (I wish more businesses understood how vital this portion of the experience is).   Anu is the hygienist that works on my teeth but, get this, she is actually a dentist!  So, you're getting your teeth cleaned by someone that already knows everything about your teeth.  She has really calm energy, makes 100% certain that you feel comfortable and ASKS YOU what you are comfortable with her doing.  I had a bad wreck in 2012 when I first started coming to their offices and preferred that I not have x-rays on my teeth at that visit due to so many x-rays that year.  They didn't push me and Anu just said, "Ok no problem.  We can do them when you're ready."  WHAT?! I GET TO DECIDE?!  I instantly knew this was the office for me.   When Dr. Fredricks gets to you, she is reading x-rays, cracking jokes and truly listening to what you have going on.  She isn't a spend 5 minutes and leave you kind of dentist.   OH and I cannot gush over how clean these offices are enough.  They are SOOOO clean!!!  Not being sexist, but this office is run by all women and it just makes a difference.  Sorry, boys.  :) I do not have dental insurance, so my experiences have been a bit different than other reviewers.  But I am shocked to read that other employees have been rude to patients.  I'm not here to judge anyone's experience, but I find that really difficult to wrap my head around because my experience has been night and day from that.  Highly recommend this dentist and staff! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 11, 2012

I should start by saying - If you look at my other reviews, you see another dental office on there, so this comes from previous experience.  What can I say?  I hate teeth cleanings, and yet have managed to find an office where they make them as pleasant of an experience as possible.  Right from the get go the Office Manager, Susan, is a delight.  She works with you if you do not have insurance, she calls you the day before your appointment to remind you and she is just generally happy to be alive.  TOTALLY great energy to walk into the office (I wish more businesses understood how vital this portion of the experience is).  Anu is the hygienist that works on my teeth but, get this, she is actually a dentist!  So, you're getting your teeth cleaned by someone that already knows everything about your teeth.  She has really calm energy, makes 100% certain that you feel comfortable and ASKS YOU what you are comfortable with her doing.  I had a bad wreck in 2012 when I first started coming to their offices and preferred that I not have x-rays on my teeth at that visit due to so many x-rays that year.  They didn't push me and Anu just said, "Ok no problem.  We can do them when you're ready."  WHAT?! I GET TO DECIDE?!  I instantly knew this was the office for me.  When Dr. Fredricks gets to you, she is reading x-rays, cracking jokes and truly listening to what you have going on.  She isn't a spend 5 minutes and leave you kind of dentist.  OH and I cannot gush over how clean these offices are enough.  They are SOOOO clean!!!  Not being sexist, but this office is run by all women and it just makes a difference.  Sorry, boys.  :)I do not have dental insurance, so my experiences have been a bit different than other reviewers.  But I am shocked to read that other employees have been rude to patients.  I'm not here to judge anyone's experience, but I find that really difficult to wrap my head around because my experience has been night and day from that.  Highly recommend this dentist and staff! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.